Cedar River Landing

I’ve driven past Cedar River Landing several times and had been eager to try it. We went on a Monday evening. The place wasn’t too busy. A large group playing darts and several small trios around the bar. The place was open and the music was loud. We found a low four top off to the side and waited.

Eventually the waitress came over and took our drink orders and scurried off. As we waited we checked out the various TV screens and watched the people playing darts. By the time she came back we were ready with our order but she scurried off again.

So we waited some more and had fun catching up with each other. Finally our waitress came back and we placed our order. I was excited to order the Gator Fries and The Wife ordered the Breaded Mushrooms. For our entrees, The Child surprised me and ordered the Two Piece Dark Broasted Chicken Dinner instead of chicken tenders and fries, The Wife opted for breakfast and ordered a Bacon Egg and Cheese Sandwich with a side of fries. I think the only thing special about the sandwich was it is made with TWO eggs instead of one. For myself, I knew from the moment I opened the menu what I wanted. Jambalaya. And with our order in we waited.

And waited. Our drinks ran out and we called her over for refills. And we waited. And our drinks ran dry again and still we waited. Finally after what seemed and eternity our food arrived. I realize that people go to bars to hang out. So it makes sense for food not to come out at fast food speeds. But speed of service needs to be reasonable also. Over an hour for our food to arrive is excessive, especially when we were the only ones eating!

All of our food came out at once, appetizers with entrees. The mushrooms were good, as they seem to be everywhere we go. I loved the alligator tail. It was great as is and didn’t need their Cajun sauce that it comes with. The Child found the Broasted chicken to be acceptable but passed on the fries because they were seasoned. I heard no complaints on the BEC sandwich.

My Jambalaya looked different than any I have had before. But I was open minded. It was amazingly good. I get irritated with shrimp served with tails on but at least they were on top and easy to pick. The only complaint would be the slivered onions were stringy. I could only eat half of the plate and looked forward to leftovers.

There were a couple of things on the menu I’d like to try. And it looked like a great bar to just hang out.They had a live stage and so maybe some good acts come their way. But the service has to get better, A LOT better. I’m hoping it was just an off night and our next time will be great.

Leave a Reply

