Mikhael’s

BREAKFAST. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I love BIG breakfasts too. The kind I can eat and not eat again until dinner. I don’t care if it’s American, English, Mexican, French, German or Korean as long as it’s BIG.

Sunday has been traditionally a family breakfast outing for us because we are not church goers. <gasp> So getting a table at 10:30-11am at one of the three choices of restaurants worked for us. I had a place in mind to hit up Sunday morning, and it was packed when we got there. At least a 30 minute wait. Mikhael’s was my fall back choice. Maybe it should have been my first choice.

Mikhael’s in tiny. But we were able to get a seat just inside by the register. This is a classic Greek family diner. I asked and everyone working that morning was related. The older ones with thick European accents. My kind of place!

mikhaels_

The Child ordered the kid’s pancakes with bacon. Given the damage she inflicted on her plate I’d say she enjoyed it, especially the bacon. The Wife ordered… I think it was called The Lumberjack? It came with ham, sausage, bacon, potatoes. She ordered the eggs scrambled. The highlight was three rounds of cinnamon French toast.

2016-02-21 10.40.47

I’m sick of biscuits and gravy. Just plain tired of it. I love omelettes and they have been scarce in my life the that last few years. I was so excited to see more than three choices in omelettes. I had a hard time deciding at Mikhael’s there so many good choices. I decided to go Greek and ordered the Greek Omelette, minus tomatoes. Gyro meat, feta cheese, onions. Wonderfulness. I think they call the fried potatoes  American potatoes. They were excellent. My highlight was the toast. I like rye toast. Mikhael’s rye wasn’t just rye toast it was pumpernickel rye! I also like it buttered for me. The kitchen always does a better job than I do, brushing it on when the toast is hot. Our server said she did an extra special job buttering my toast. I could feel the love.

This is going to be a regular breakfast stop that I won’t be tired of soon. And there’s lunch to explore too!

Leave a Reply

